Music gets the best of me

Leave a comment

January 29, 2012 by agooddaytoyou

I would like to dedicate this blog to three very special ladies.

Carol King, for inspiring me to write this blog. – So far away

Sophie Ellis-Bextor for the title of the blog – Music Gets the Best of Me

And last, but by no means least, Goldfrapp for opening my eyes to an amazing world of music – Black Cherry.

It’s a Sunday night and I’m at home alone doing some relaxing, eating and housework (I wouldn’t be doing the housework if I didn’t need work clothes for tomorrow *sigh*) so I put on a CD for some mood music. I looked through my collection for something fitting and came across the best of Carol King. She is the perfect lady to keep me company for the evening.

My obsession with music didn’t start until I was around 18. I mean of course I had the “Jagged Little Pill, no one understands me because I’m so deep” era that I think everyone in my generation had. But apart from that I only owned a few CD’s.

Before my introduction to the world of music I have always attached memories to songs.

Long way to Tipperary” by written Jack Judge reminds me of weekends spent with my grandparents and the car rides home singing along until we feel asleep in the back seat.

Summer Nights” from Grease brings back to memories of parties in our living room where everyone would be dancing and singing and my mother was the life of the party.

Since You’ve Been Gone” by Kelly Clarkson is a flashback to the dance floor of the Beat and dancing after my first big breakup and knowing that I was going to be OK.

The CD that sparked it all was Black Cherry by Goldfrapp. There was no real reason I choose that CD. I had heard my sister mention their name, I was in HMV in the city and saw the CD for $9.99 and thought why not?

I took it home, put it on and my love for music was born. One song off the album caught my attention, the title track, Black Cherry. It started my love affair with tragic love songs.

That was when I started to ‘collect’ music (Currently I am in possession of 100gig of music and over 200 CD’s (Not all ripped to computer)) I devoured it at an incredible pace.

I rummaged through my sisters collection of music, borrowed old CD’s off my mum and started to buy a few a week as well. I know that they say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but when it came to music that was all I had to go on. If it had a pretty cover and a nice price, it was coming home with me. I would spend hours in JB HiFi or HMV just looking through their collections and deciding what to buy. (Pretty sure a few security guards would follow me around thinking I was suspect.)

Some of the things I left with were disastrous. I should never have bought the “Sneeze” album (In saying that I think I still have it somewhere because I can’t bring myself to get rid of the CD. To be honest, I can’t bring myself to get rid of any of them, they all tell a little story when I look at them.)

But I also found some amazing artists that changed my life.  Marilyn Manson taught me that it’s OK to be bad and dirty sometimes. Roisin Murphy showed me that throwing a kettle against a wall and sampling the sound could make for amazing results. And Carol King spoke to a part of my soul that very few artists have ever been able to. And then there is Sophie Ellis-Bextor who fulfils my trashy pop side.

Music now inspires my everyday life. I wake up every morning with a song in my head, this morning was from Mary Poppins. While I was doing the dishes tonight I was singing “How do you solve a problem like Maria?” I always have a soundtrack playing around me. I almost never leave the house without my iPod in case I am stuck somewhere and need to escape the real world.

As a general rule most of my blog posts will be titled with a line from a song and it will have inspired the post too. When I write short stories it is usually from a mood that a song gave me. I have tonnes of little pieces of paper and books full of scribble. What I love though is that I can go back and listen to the song, read the note and know totally what I was on about and write the story.

My music obsession is still going. I try to listen to a new CD a week to try something new. I listen to everything from punk to pop, classical to emo and everything in between.

I thought about applying for big brother once, then found out that you didn’t get to listen to music while you were in there, I deleted my application that day. So it is true, music gets the best of me.

Leave a Reply, if you want

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

