Make my day

Leave a comment

November 15, 2011 by agooddaytoyou

Life isn’t that bad, is it?

I know that we’re exposed to the world’s problems via every media channel.

I know that our family dramas can get us down.

And I know our friends issues and First World Problems can cause our eyes to constantly roll back into our skulls.

I know… I know.

It’s not always easy to stay positive and optimistic every day, but it can’t be that hard can it?

So, I’ve given myself a task, that from today (15th November) to November 30, I’m going to find one thing that makes my day a document it with a picture. It can’t be that hard. It could be anything: Getting all the green lights to work, having your pet curl up and hug you in their sleep or a conversation you’ve had someone you haven’t spoken to in years.

My first “make my day” moment happened this morning and I’ve decided to share it with you.

You should know that I love Tuesday. It’s a day I cherish most. The thought of it puts an extra spring in my step and results in me not being able to go to bed early on a Monday night, knowing that it’s only a few hours away.

I always wake up earlier on a Tuesday, and today was no exception. With the summer sun warming up the bedroom as early as 5.30am, I’m itching to get on with the day.

Cold showers during summer is the second best thing after it being Tuesday, so I was in my element. Shower gel here, rub over there, jiggle over here… you get the drift.

You can’t have a shower without humming and singing along to a tune or two (third best thing). I have this weird trait that I wake up with a song in my head. It usually sticks with me until I get to work, so singing it in the shower is when it gets it’s time to shine. The echoes give it the depth it needs to be appreciated by me and my neighbours. Now, before I share this morning’s song, you need to know what my last routine in the shower is… It’s brushing my teeth.

Yes, I brush my teeth in the shower, it feels more natural to me than pulling faces in front of a mirror. Have you ever sneezed in front of a mirror while brushing your teeth? I cringe at the thought of accidentally covering the mirror in a splatter of white foam. Unsanitary and hilarious to say the least.

Today’s song to sing was none other than Meatloaf’s, “I would do anything for Love”…You know, “No I won’t do that, OH NO, No i won’t do that…”

I was brushing my teeth and getting up to the dramatic chorus when I spat out the nights accumulation of, well… mouth build up stuff, all over the shower screen. I sang my line and looked up to see.. no word of a lie, Meatloaf.

Not in his physical form, but an outline from the spittle left on the screen door where I had spat. I laughed for a good five minutes.

I know it sounds unbelievable, so I got out of the shower, and took a picture with my phone. Can you see him? (click on the image to enlarge)

I edited the contrast so it was easier to see the outline, but no Photoshop or touching of the steam covered screen happened.

So, with that roughly explained, I’m sure that if we all looked casually and closely enough at our wonderful lives, we could all find more positive and happier things to share with our community then what we hate and negatively judge.

Happy Tuesday.

Leave a Reply, if you want

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

